The Bookbinding Competition 2008

Exhibition in The John Rylands Library
150 Deansgate, Manchester M3 3EH

15 November 2008 to 18 January 2009
Opening times: 10.00-17.00 (Tuesdays & Sundays 12.00-17.00)
The Library will be closed between Christmas and New Year

The Set Book for 2008 was:
'Don’t Look Now and Other Stories' by Daphne du Maurier
Introduction by Patrick McGratyh
Illustrations by Helen Smithson

Melanie Gradtke (The Folio Society)
Angela James (Fellow of Designer Bookbinders)
Peter Langley (The Clothworkers’ Company)
Angharad Lewis (Grafik Magazine)


2008 Prizewinners (slideshow)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Hannah Brown

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Hannah Brown
2nd Prize: Nicky Oliver

The Clothworkers' Prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Annette Friedrich
2nd Prize: Yuko Matsuno

The Sally Lou Smith Prize for Forwarding
Andrew Brown

Friends of The John Rylands Prize for Finishing
Simeon Glyn Jones

The Arthur Johnson Award (judged by Bernard Middleton)
Shelley Rapley

The Elizabeth Greenhill award for Gold Tooling

Annette Friedrich

The Ash Rare Books Lettering award
Chris Hicks

The J. Hewit & Sons prize
Andrew Brown

The Harmatan Leather Ltd prize
David Penton

The Judges award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Sofia Johansson

The Shepherds Falkiner Fine Papers prize
Jeanette Koch

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Paul Broadbent
Naomi Mitamura
Haein Song
Marysa de Veer