The Bookbinding Competition 2011

2011 Prizewinners (slideshow)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Hannah Brown

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Kate Holland
2nd Prize: Simeon Jones

The Clothworkers' Prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Hannah Brown
2nd Prize: Simeon Jones

The Sally Lou Smith Prize for Forwarding
Annette Friedrich

Friends of The John Rylands Prize for Finishing
Tatjana Gretchmann

The Arthur Johnson Award (judged by Bernard Middleton)
Paolo Taddeo

The Elizabeth Greenhill award for Gold Tooling

Pamela Richmond

The Ash Rare Books Lettering award
Wendy Smith

The J. Hewit & Sons prize
Paul Henry

The Harmatan Leather Ltd prize
Jeanette Koch

The Judges' award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Marianne Harwood

The Shepherds Falkiner Fine Papers prize
Glenn Malkin

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Nicholas Dunn-Coleman
Patricia Grillo
Dave Perry
Paolo Taddeo


Joe Whitlock Blundell - The Folio Society
Rachel Ward-Sale - Fellow of Designer Bookbinders
Edward Bayntun Coward - George Bayntun
Bruce Howard - Oak Tree Fine Press


The exhibition for this year’s Designer Bookbinders Competition is at the John Rylands University Library in Manchester and will run from 27 November 2011 – 22 January 2012 inclusive.

The John Rylands Library
The University of Manchester
150 Deansgate
M3 3EH

The library is open from 10.00-5.00, Tuesday to Saturday, and from 12.00-5.00 on Mondays and Sunday, but closed between Christmas and New Year (23 December 2011 - 3 January 2012 inclusive).

The competition winners and selected binders will be at the Sophie Schneideman Gallery, London from 2 - 12 March.