The Bookbinding Competition 2012

2012 Prizewinners (slideshow)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Tom McEwan

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Tom McEwan
2nd Prize: Emily Beattie

The Clothworkers' Prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Jeanette Koch
2nd Prize: Kate Holland

The Sally Lou Smith Prize for Forwarding
Miranda Kemp

Friends of The John Rylands Prize for Finishing
Nicky Oliver

The Arthur Johnson Award (judged by Bernard Middleton)
Sayaka Fukuda

The Elizabeth Greenhill award for Gold Tooling

Not Awarded

The Ash Rare Books Lettering award
Not Awarded

The J. Hewit & Sons prize
Jill Prole

The Harmatan Leather Ltd prize
Tatjana Gretschmann

The Judges' award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Noriko Shimizu

The Shepherds Falkiner Fine Papers prize
Haein Song

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Alan Fitch
Chris Hicks
Lee Hillman
Noriko Shimizu


Melanie Gradtke - The Folio Society
Dr. Mirjam Foot - Professor Emeritus, University of London, formerly Director of
       Collections and Preservation at The British Library
John Hodgson - The John Rylands Library
Peter Jones - Fellow of Designer Bookbinders
Stephen Conway - President of Designer Bookbinders


The exhibition for this year’s Designer Bookbinders Competition is at the John Rylands University Library in Manchester and will run from 1st December 2012 until 27th January 2013, inclusive.

The John Rylands Library
The University of Manchester
150 Deansgate
M3 3EH

The library is open from 10.00 - 5.00, Tuesday to Saturday, and from 12.0 0 -5.00 on Mondays and Sunday, but closed between Christmas and New Year (23rd December 2012 until 3rd January 2013, inclusive).