The Bookbinding Competition 2014

2014 Prizewinners (slideshow)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Hannah Brown

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Hannah Brown
2nd Prize: Nicky Oliver

The Clothworkers' Prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Miranda Kemp
2nd Prize: Ann Tout

The Sally Lou Smith Prize for Forwarding
Miranda Kemp

Prize for Finishing given by St Bride Foundation
Ann Tout

The Arthur Johnson Award (judged by Bernard Middleton)
Luke Hornus

The Elizabeth Greenhill award for Gold Tooling

Pamela Richmond

The Ash Rare Books Lettering award
Patricia Grillo

The J. Hewit & Sons prize
Kari Tveite

The Harmatan Leather Ltd prize
Jeanette Koch

The Judges' award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Ben Elbel

The Shepherds Falkiner Fine Papers prize
Chris Hicks

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Bec Britain
Simeon Jones
Adelene Koh
Sarah Ruddick


Julie Farquhar, The Folio Society
M J Long OBE, Long & Kentish Architects
Elizabeth James, Senior Librarian, The National Art Library Collections, V&A Museums
Derek Hood, Fellow of Designer Bookbinders
Lester Capon, President of Designer Bookbinders


The exhibition of the 2014 Competition will take place at:

St Bride Foundation
Bride Lane
Fleet Street
Please see www.sbf.org.uk for a map

Saturday 22nd November - Friday 5th December 2014
The opening hours are:

Monday - Friday 12 - 6pm
Saturday 22nd January 12 - 4pm
Late opening on Thursday 27th November 12 - 8pm.