The Bookbinding Competition 2016

2016 Prizewinners (slideshow)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Yuko Matsuno

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Glenn Malkin
2nd Prize: Kaori Maki

The Clothworkers' Prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Yuko Matsuno
2nd Prize: Kaitlin Barber

The Lisa von Clemm Prize (judged by Stefanie von Clemm)
Jeanette Koch

The Sally Lou Smith Prize for Forwarding
Richard Beadsmoore

Prize for Finishing given by St Bride Foundation
Kaitlin Barber

The Arthur Johnson Award (judged by Bernard Middleton)
Jeanette Koch

The Elizabeth Greenhill award for Gold Tooling

Pamela Richmond

The Ash Rare Books Lettering award
Piotr Jarosz

The J. Hewit & Sons prize
Ann Tout

The Harmatan Leather Ltd prize
Bec Britain

The Judges' award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Jeanette Koch

The Shepherds prize for Book Arts
Theresa Wedemeyer

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Patrick Gibbins
Yuko Matsuno
Gill Pickup
Pamela Richmond


Julie Farquhar, The Folio Society
Thomas Heneage, Director, Thomas Heneage Art Books
Patricia Lovett MBE, Vice-Chair of the Heritage Crafts Association
Mark Cockram, Fellow of Designer Bookbinders
Lori Sauer, President of Designer Bookbinders


The exhibition of the 2016 Competition will take place at:

St Bride Foundation
Bride Lane
Fleet Street
Please see www.sbf.org.uk for a map

11th November - 24th November 24th 2016
The opening hours are:

Monday - Friday 12 - 6pm
Saturday - 12 - 4pm