The Bookbinding Competition 2020/21

2020/21 Prizewinners (slideshow of the winning bindings)

The Mansfield Medal for Best Book in the Competition
Thomas Hosking

Folio Society prize for the Set Book
1st Prize: Miranda Kemp
2nd Prize: Laura Jamieson

The Clothworkers' prize for Open Choice Book
1st Prize: Thomas Hosking
2nd Prize: Richard Beadsmoore

The Sally Lou Smith prize for Forwarding
Glenn Malkin

The Bernard C. Middleton Finishing prize
Jeanette Koch

The Elizabeth Greenhill prize for Gold Tooling

Andreas Maroulis

The J. Hewit & Sons prize for Interesting Use of Leather
Miranda Kemp

Harmatan & Oakridge prize for Sympathetic Handling of Leather
Amy Kitcherside

The Judges' award (donated by Maggs Bros)
Richard Beadsmoore

The John Purcell Paper prize
Clare Bryan

F.J. Ratchford & Son Non-Leather prize
Linda Miles
Rebecca Price

Circles of Art Artistic Innovation
Laura Jamieson

The Ash Rare Books Lettering prize
Sarah Williams

The Shepherds prize for Book Arts
Richard Beadsmoore

The Lisa von Clemm prize for Best Newcomer
Ted Bennett

Four Highly Commended Certificates (given by Antiquarian Booksellers Association)
Nesta Davies
Miranda Kemp
Jeanette Koch
Pamela Richmond


Bill Amberg, internationally renowned leather designer
Sarah Bodman, Senior Research Fellow for Artists' Books at the Centre for Fine Print Research at University of West of England and Editor of the Artist's Book Yearbook
Lori Sauer, DB Fellow
Lester Capon, DB President